HSF #7: Tops and Toes

The Challenge: #7, Tops and Toes

Fabric: 100% linen, medium-weight

Pattern: from Katafalk

Year: 14th century. The existing cap is said to belong to St. Birgitta of Sweden, who lived 1303-1373.

Notions: 100% cotton thread. Linen would be more accurate, but I don’t have any on hand and wanted to be economical.

How historically accurate is it? All hand-sewn, and it’s based off an extant piece, so definitely one of my more accurate efforts.

Hours to complete: about three.

First worn: not out yet, just around the house to test it.

Total cost: The linen was a remnant I bought a long time ago, and the cotton thread I’ve had on hand for a few years too. Neither was entirely used up in this project, so I’d say about $3 or 4.

I’m pretty happy with how it turned out. It’s comfortable, and it fits relatively well. If/when I remake it, I’ll try out a slightly lighter-weight linen, wider seam allowances, and attempt the embroidered gap.

 

My version of the Birgitta cap.

My version of the Birgitta cap.

birgittacap3

Inside view of the cap.

One thought on “HSF #7: Tops and Toes

Leave a Reply

